Hello!

857005_10151904015411177_872539417_oMy name is Mina Radman, and I am a student in the JOU4700: Problems and Ethics of Journalism in Society class. This blog will be used to document my semester in this course.

A little about me: I am a senior who is majoring in journalism with an outside concentration in business administration. I hail from sunny South Florida. I’m a first-generation Iranian-American, and I have a younger brother. Happiness to me is coffee, tea, chocolate, chocolate-chip banana bread, puppies, the beach, and all things Disney. My four favorite places on Earth (so far) are: Magic Kingdom at sunset, the Lincoln Memorial on the Fourth of July, the beach at sunrise and Ben Hill Griffin Stadium on game day.

Resume in bullet points:

Current positions:

  • UF Health editorial intern
  • Frank gathering in public interest communications social media manager
  • UF CJC communications assistant

Previous positions:

  • Karel Fellowship in public interest communications at the Campaign for Tobacco-Free Kids in Washington, D.C.
  • WUFT.org web producer, editor
  • The Independent Florida Alligator staff writer
  • Allied Integrated Marketing intern for Universal Pictures
  • The North Florida Herald reporting intern

What I want to be when I grow up: I plan to work in communications, and I will be applying for both journalism and PR-related jobs. Ideally, I would love to be an in-house journalist or social media manager for a corporation, children’s hospital (ex. Children’s National Medical Center in D.C. or Miami Children’s Hospital) or public health organization.

My definition of ethics: Don’t lie, cheat, steal or buy your sources to get a story.

Ethical problem that I’ve faced: As silly as it sounds, I always feel ethically confused when there’s free food at an event I’m covering. Since I work as an in-house editorial intern for UF Health, I’ve been told that it’s OK to eat food while covering events, but I still feel like it’s ethically wrong. But the food is so good…

Leave a Reply

